Sequoyah Book Challenge

The first Sequoyah Children’s Book Award was given in April, 1959, making the award the third oldest children’s choice award in the nation. Since that time Oklahoma has added an Intermediate authors award and a Young Adult authors award. The Oklahoma Library Association honors Sequoyah for his unique achievement in creating the 86 symbols representing the different sounds in the Cherokee language.

Students in grades 3rd-5th are challenged to read 3 or more books from the Children’s 2017 Sequoyah Masterlist. Students who have read 3 or more books will be eligible to vote beginning in March for their favorite book. Votes from across the state are collect and the winner is announced at the Oklahoma Library Association annual conference in April.

Sunset students and parents can read more about the Sequoyah award on the following website: Oklahoma Library Association Sequoyah Award.

Children’s 2017 Sequoyah Masterlist  Sequoyah Book Award

  1. The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
  2. Elizabeth, Queen of the Seas by Lynne Cox
  3. Mr. Ferris and His Wheel by Kathryn Gibbs Davis
  4. The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
  5. Dash by Kirby Larson
  6. Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord
  7. Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
  8. Super Sniffers: Dog Detectives on the Job by Dorothy Hinshaw Patent
  9. Zane and the Hurricane: A Story of Katrina by Rodman Philbrick
  10. The Doll Graveyard by Lois Ruby
  11. Quinny & Hopper by Adriana Brad Schanen
  12. The Junction of Sunshine and Lucky by Holly Schindler
  13. Eliza Bing is (Not) a Big, Fat Quitter by Carmella Van Vleet
  14. The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond by Brenda Woods
  15. Arcady’s Goal by Eugene Yelchin